Governance Board

The ArchivesSpace Governance Board

The purpose of the ArchivesSpace Governance Board is to advise LYRASIS, the ArchivesSpace organization home, on the ongoing development and support of ArchivesSpace, through the review and prioritization of the software development, technical infrastructure and user support roadmaps, and to meet the needs of a broad and diverse spectrum of archival institutions in a balanced and equitable manner.

Board Membership

The ArchivesSpace organization will be governed by an 11-member Governance Board, composed of five elected members, plus one member from each of the project partner institutions (NYU, UCSD, and UIUC) and one member from the LYRASIS management team. The ArchivesSpace Program Manager and one member of the LYRASIS Board will serve as ex officio members.


Eligibility to serve on the Board shall be restricted to paying members, in good standing. Board positions representing the ArchivesSpace membership categories will be elected by the membership in annual June elections.

For the first year, a special Nominating Committee will identify a slate of candidates for the membership categories to be represented on the Board. The Nominating Committee will consist of three members selected by the ArchivesSpace partners as representative of the membership, as well as a representative from each project partner to ensure consistency of the project’s vision. The Nominating Committee will be selected and begin their work prior to the beginning of membership.


Terms for the Board members are for two years, initially with staggered terms, renewable one time via re-election. Terms begin July 1 of each year and end June 30 of the appropriate year. After two terms, Board members may be elected to serve again following at least a one-year hiatus.


The Chair shall be elected by the Board. Other officers will be defined when necessary and also be elected by the Board.  The Officers will also be responsible for delegating nominations and other functional activities that need to be performed by the Board.


Board business will be conducted through an annual in-person meeting and quarterly conference calls. Travel will be at each Board member’s expense.

Governance Board Roster

Thomas Adams
Systems & Digital Project Developer, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory
Very Small membership level, first two-year term ending June 2017

Alston Cobourn
Digital Scholarship Librarian, Washington & Lee University
Small membership level, first two-year term ending June 2018

Christian Dupont
Burns Librarian and Associate University Librarian for Special Collections, Boston College
Large membership level, first two-year term ending June 2017

Gerald (Jay) Gaidmore
Marian and Alan McLeod Director of Special Collections, College of William & Mary
Medium membership level, second two-year term ending June 2017

Audra Eagle Yun
Head of Special Collections & Archives, University of California, Irvine
Very large membership level, first two-year term ending June 2018

The additional Governance Board members include:

Carol Mandel
Dean, Division of the Libraries at New York University
Project Partner

Robert Miller
Chief Operating Officer, LYRASIS

Brian Schottlaender
The Audrey Geisel University Librarian at the University of California, San Diego
Project Partner

John P. Wilkin
Juanita J. and Robert E. Simpson Dean of Libraries and University Librarian, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Project Partner

Ex officio Governance Board members include:

Laurie Arp
Director of Collections and Community Supported Software
LYRASIS Representative

Gregor Trinkaus-Randall
Preservation Specialist, Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners
LYRASIS Board of Trustees representative

Bradley Westbrook
ArchivesSpace Program Manager